LEGO Star Wars – Project 30279

lego-30279-kylo-ren-shuttle

London and I like LEGO, Star Wars, and LEGO Star Wars, but we’re especially fond of the little polybag sets that pop up in department store checkout lanes. And our favorite thing to do with them, once we’ve built the models as intended, is to hack them. The goal is to come up with alternative builds that use only the pieces from the polybag set, but still look like they might plausibly be vehicles from Star Wars. Our latest round of builds is based on LEGO set 30279, a miniature version of Kylo Ren’s Command Shuttle.

Before I get into our alternative builds, I should say one thing about the Command Shuttle when built as intended: it sucks. It looks pretty much like the one from the movie, but the wings are fixed in the vertical position, which is not how the one from the movie flies around. This is like having a Lambda shuttle with wings that don’t swing or a B-wing with S-foils that don’t open. It was an embarrassing oversight when it happened on the big Command Shuttle set, and it’s simply inexcusable here. It would have been an easy fix, too, with a pair of hinges. Mediocre!

MOC 1 – Matt’s fighter

Here was my first attempt at an alternative build:

project-30279-mjw-fighter-1

If I’m super-picky, it looks more like something from Wing Commander or Renegade Legion than Star Wars, but I dig it anyway. Here are some instructions:

project-30279-mjw-fighter-1-instructions

MOC 2 – Matt’s cruiser

project-30279-mjw-cruiser-1

Next I tried a Star Destroyer-type capital ship, with a powerful axial laser. The bridge tower is elevated to get the sensors and comm gear up away from the weapons. This one’s a mixed bag, probably a little more obviously Star Wars-y than the fighter, but a less elegant and unified design. Instructions:

project-30279-mjw-cruiser-1-instructions

MOC 3 – London’s gunship

project-30279-lcw-gunship-1

While I was building my fighter and cruiser, London was steadily working away on something I couldn’t see clearly. When he showed me the finished product, I was blown away. I love this thing. Using the grey wedge pieces to make a double-tier cockpit would not have occurred to me in a million years, and the outriggers give it a rounded, Millennium Falcon-esque aspect ratio. It looks very swooshable, and I think it would make a killer gunship for Rebel special forces or a well-heeled smuggler.

This instruction set is actually interesting, because it shows some clever bits of building, like having the grey ridged bricks at the back only snapped in at the top (they’re just balanced on the smooth parts of the wing pieces in step 3, below), and hiding all of the little colored plates inside as structural elements.

project-30279-lcw-gunship-1-instructions

So, I think London wins this round. If anyone out there wants to play, leave a comment, and you can have space to show off your creation in a future post.

This entry was posted in homebrew, Lego, MOC, sequels, Star Wars, toys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LEGO Star Wars – Project 30279

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    I think this one of the great things about mini-kits: the MOCking is so tractable. You’ll remember from way back, reconfigured my Star Destroyer 4492 into a Super Star Destroyer in much the same spirit. (I just wish I’d photographed the Nebulon B Frigate that I made from the same kit.)

  2. That is so disappointing about the Shuttle. The design and look of it is wonderful, I even like it better than the large set.
    – Anette, https://maythefourthbewithyoupartyblog.com

Leave a Reply

