Star Wars homework: the other movies of the actors and directors

Looper poster

The guy who wrote and directed this is writing and directing Episode VIII.

I thought it would be fun to catch up on the non-Star Wars films of the creators and actors of the Star Wars sequel trilogy and stand-alone films.

Here’s the list of people, their roles in the sequel trilogy, and the 14 movies I’ve chosen for homework. I assume that most people have seen Godzilla (2014) and Jurassic World (2015) already, but as the movies closest in budget and scope to the upcoming Star Wars movies, I felt compelled to include them. Beyond that, I have made no attempt to be comprehensive – instead I’ve listed the movies that I have the most interest in seeing. If you want completeness, IMDB and Wikipedia await.

I also did not include any of J.J. Abrams’ work. I assume he’s a known quantity by now, and this list is really looking forward to Episodes VIII and IX and Rogue One, not back (or sideways) to The Force Awakens. But for what it’s worth, I think the JJ film that most directly anticipates The Force Awakens is Super 8.

When I first composed the list last week, the only thing I’d seen from it (other than the two big summer blockbusters) was Looper (2012). Since then I’ve also watched Ex Machina (2015), which is streaming for free on Amazon Prime. More on those movies in other posts.

John Boyega – FN-2187/Finn

Oscar Isaac – Poe Dameron

Domhnall Gleeson – General Hux

Rian Johnson – writer for Episodes VIII and IX, director for Episode VIII

  • Brick (2005) – hardboiled detective story among high school students
  • The Brothers Bloom (2008) – caper comedy
  • Looper (2012) – time travel crime thriller

Colin Trevorrow – director for Episode IX

Gareth Edwards – director for Rogue One

  • Monsters (2010) – science fiction monster movie
  • Godzilla (2014) – science fiction monster movie

 

This entry was posted in movies, sequels, Star Wars, Star Wars homework. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Star Wars homework: the other movies of the actors and directors

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    I’ve not seen Godzilla (2014) — should I?

    I’ve seen Attack the Block. It was OK, but didn’t leave me with any desire to see it again like a great movie does.

  2. Mike Taylor says:

    (Pointless comment because I forgot to check “Notify me of new comments via email” last time.)

  3. Matt Wedel says:

    Wow, I suck at responding to comments.

    I think the new Godzilla is worth a watch. Like almost all kaiju movies it has a little too much, “Why are we following this random dude around instead of watching monsters?” going on, but as that is almost a constant in the genre I can’t fault it too much for that. Most of the action takes place at night, and in sharp contrast to Pacific Rim, it’s not pretty, neon-lit nighttime, it’s so-dark-it’s-hard-to-see nighttime. As a kaiju movie I found it surprisingly colorless and lifeless compared to Pac Rim – as if the latter movie had no effect on it, which is possible considering they were both in development and filming at approximately the same time. But then I am ardent Pac Rim fanboy so take that with a Cherno Alpha-sized (and shaped) grain of salt.

    With all that said, the MUTOs are cool and gross, there are some nice “BLEEP me!” moments of playing with scale, and it is at worst a competent monster movie.

  4. Mike Taylor says:

    “Worth a watch … surprisingly colorless and lifeless … nice … competent.”

    Sign me up!!

  5. Pingback: Star Wars homework: Ex Machina (2015) | Echo Station 5-7

  6. Pingback: Star Wars homework: Brick (2005) | Echo Station 5-7

Leave a Reply

