London’s Millennium Falcon

Back in 2005, when my son, London, was just a few months old, Mike Taylor sent me, out of the blue and for no reason other than friendship, the giant Lego 4504 Millennium Falcon. I was quite taken with it…

…but I never got around to building it. I can’t claim that I never had the time or space, I just never got around to it. After a while, I had waited so long to build it, it seemed silly not to wait a little longer, and share it with London.

A couple of Saturdays ago, it was time.

It’s a pretty sweet set. As you can see from the photos, the whole roof opens like the petals of a flower to allow access to the inside. It has the holographic game table and the engine power core and racks of tools, rotating laser cannons, a seat for the top turret gunner, a secret cargo hold, a ramp that raises and lowers, and room in the cockpit for both Han and Chewie. Loads of play value, as the marketing types would say.

Thanks, Mike! Hope the six years of me not building this awesome gift weren’t too painful for you. For me, the wait was more than worth it.

This entry was posted in Lego, Star Wars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

